The IB Curriculum

The International Baccalaureate has set very clear guidelines and regulations that students must achieve in order to receive the Diploma qualification.

The curriculum is modeled by a Diploma Curriculum Framework with six academic areas surrounding the three core requirements.

Over the course of the two-year program, students:

  • Study six subjects chosen from the six subject groups
  • Complete an Extended Essay (EE)
  • Follow a Theory of Knowledge course (TOK)
  • Participate in Creativity, Activity, Service (CAS).

The student study load comprise:

  • Three of the six subjects are studied at Higher Level (courses representing 240 teaching hours)
  • The remaining three subjects are studied at Standard Level (courses representing 150 teaching hours).